Waffle Pizza!

IMG_1478

Waffle pizza? Pizza waffle? I think this could give the pizza bagel vs. bagel pizza debate a run for its money. Has anyone other than my family actually had that debate? Probably not, but I always called them pizza bagels and my cousins called them bagel pizzas. If I went by that rule, I should call them pizza waffles, but I’ve already decided that they’re waffle pizzas.

Anyway, these waffle pizzas were dreamed up one night almost exactly a year ago when I couldn’t fall asleep. I don’t know why I started thinking about waffles, but for some reason these random waffle ideas kept popping into my head, making it even harder to sleep. Waffle pizza was the one that really stuck, and I’m pretty sure I made it the very next day because I just couldn’t wait any longer.

I adapted a Joy the Baker waffle recipe for the “crust” and topped the waffles with sauce and cheese before I put them in the oven. You can top them with any toppings of your choice, or just keep it classic with lots of cheese.

Waffle Pizza

Makes 4 Belgian waffles

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup cornmeal

1 teaspoon granulated sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

salt and pepper (I never measure these, just grind/shake until your heart’s content!)

1/3 cup olive oil

1 1/4 cup milk

2 large eggs

3 tablespoons fresh basil

2 tablespoons chopped chives

sauce, cheese, and toppings

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees and turn on your waffle maker.

Whisk the dry ingredients in a large bowl, then mix the wet into the dry. Lightly beat the eggs first. (Or don’t, I’m not your mother.) Once that’s all mixed, fold in the basil and chive until it’s well incorporated.

IMG_1468

At this point your waffle maker should be hot, so put that batter in and make some waffles. Once your waffles are done, put them on a cookie sheet and top with sauce and cheese, and toppings if you’re adding those. Go easy on the sauce, since it collects in the pockets (is that what they’re called?) and if you add too much the waffle will get kind of soggy and heavy.

IMG_1470

Once you’ve finished topping the waffle, put it in the oven for about 5 minutes, or until the cheese is mostly melted. At this point, you can either let the cheese melt fully, or you can turn your broiler on for a minute or two and let that cheese get all brown and delicious.

Let the pizzas cool for a couple minutes, and then stuff your face. You earned it.

IMG_1474

Recipe adapted from Joy the Baker.

One thought on “Waffle Pizza!

Leave a Reply

