Zucchini Waffles

IMG_1434

I’ve never liked Wednesdays. I wish I could skip work on Wednesdays like Tim Riggins skips school on Wednesdays, without giving it a second thought. In the summer, though, they’re not so bad because there’s a farmers market near my office every Wednesday. I stop by on my lunch break, my sister-in-law makes me a panini while I help her sell them, and I do a little shopping. Often that means baked goods, but a couple weeks ago, I bought some monster zucchini and a watermelon. Did you know that watermelons are really heavy? I learned this the hard way after walking many blocks with it in a plastic bag that was mid-tear, but I did make it back to my office and then to my car with the watermelon fully intact. Fortunately, the monster zucchini wasn’t so heavy that I had trouble carrying it, but it did take me quite a while to grate it all. After making some zucchini bars (recipe soon to come!) and some double chocolate zucchini bread, I still had some left, so the obvious solution was to make waffles.

Since the zucchini in these makes them so moist, they definitely benefit from some time in the oven (or toaster oven) after they’ve been waffled to crisp up a bit, but this will also keep them warm if you’re feeding a crowd.

 Zucchini Waffles

Makes 3 waffles
 
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
2 tablespoons sugar
1/4 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups shredded zucchini
 
Turn on your waffle make and preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
 
In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon. In a larger bowl, whisk the eggs, then add the butter (make sure it’s cool-ish!), sugar, milk, and vanilla, then add the zucchini. Add the dry ingredients to the wet, and mix until combined.
 IMG_1430
After each waffle is cooked, put them in the oven (directly on the rack is good) for a few minutes, or until they’re as crisp as you prefer. I enjoyed my waffles with maple syrup, but I bet lots of other sweet-ish toppings would be great!
IMG_1432
 
Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen.
 
Leave a Reply

