Zucchini Bars

IMG_1424

Remember that monster zucchini I used for waffles a couple weeks ago? These are what I used some of the rest for! I first had these as cookies made by my friend’s mom when I was in college. I don’t think I had ever tried a baked good with zucchini before that (I used to be pretty averse to anything green), so I was somewhat hesitant, but I was pleasantly surprised at how well everything in these cookies worked together. I’m usually not a fan of nuts in baked goods and I’m not crazy about butterscotch (hence why I used cinnamon chips), but everything about these cookies just works and I can’t recommend them enough.

I was feeling lazy, so I decided to turn them into bars and they were just as good. They’re super moist and sweet enough, but not too sweet. I refuse to let go of summer and I especially refuse to start baking with pumpkin until fall officially starts, so I will enjoy my zucchini treats for as long as the zucchini allows.

Zucchini Bars

Makes 48 cookies or 24 bars (or more if you cut them smaller)

1/2 cup softened unsalted butter

3/4 cup sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup oats

1 cup walnuts or pecans, chopped

1 cup shredded zucchini

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cinnamon or butterscotch chips

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

In a stand mixer, beat the butter until soft, then add the sugar and beat until fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla and beat it some more.

Add the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt, and beat until everything is well incorporated.

With a wooden spoon, stir in the oats, nuts, zucchini, and chocolate/cinnamon/butterscotch chips.

If you’re making bars, spread the dough evenly in a 9×13 inch pan lined with parchment and bake for 12-15 minutes.

If you’re making cookies, drop these by the teaspoon 2 inches apart on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, and bake for 10-12 minutes.

IMG_1419

One thought on “Zucchini Bars

  1. These will be perfect for all of the zucchini and pecans I need to use up soon. I’m a bar person, I’m too lazy to make cookies. I still have your zucchini waffle recipe to try as well. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

